Conn caught with “Book of Common Prayer”

Reports state the Lee University President Paul Conn has been sleeping in his office in the Vest building for the past three weeks.

Mrs. Conn confronts her husband who admittedly "wears his ceremonial garb to feel even more intellectual when reading the BCP."

An insider close to Conn has informed the Leek that the reason for the presidents extended stay is a fight that began after Darlia Conn caught her husband in a compromising position with the “Book of Common Prayer”.

“I came in from my Pilates class 20 minutes early, and there he was on our couch holding that thing to his bosom,” said Mrs. Conn.  “I didn’t know what to do.  I can’t believe it, and it breaks my heart. I am Church of God through and through and was sure Paul was too.”

The BCM is a predominately Anglican and Episcopalian religious text that has prescribed prayers for all times of the day and special events.

Conn officially denied his intimacy with the text at a press conference Friday, Feb. 11, 2012.

“Now, I have to go back to work on my Convocation opening speech. And I worked on it until pretty late last night. But I want to say one thing to the Lee University community. I want you to listen to me. I’m going to say this again: I did not have intellectual spirituality with that book, ‘The Book of Common Prayer’. I never told anybody to lie, not a single time; never. These allegations are false. And I need to go back to work for the Lee community.”

The Church of God administration has begun an official investigation into the beliefs and practices of Conn, indicating in a statement that they believe this transgression with “The Book of Common Prayer” might be systematic of a deeper liturgical leaning that has inhabited the potentate of Lee University.

The inside of a traditional Anglican church looks surprisingly similar to the Lee University chapel.

“The signs have been there, but until this event, we have been able to relegate them,” the document stated. “The new chapel is conspicuously high church; what’s more, the use of a rote college benediction every chapel, definitely liturgical in form.”

If Conn is found to be “too far from the central tenets of the Church of God” the Council of Eighteen will convene to decide the penalty.

It is believed that Conn’s relationship with the “The Book of Common Prayer” began during his post-doctoral work at Harvard at a local Anglican church named Christ Church Cambridge.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

